AFL 3 years ago

Lynch wins Suns AFL club champion prize

  • Lynch wins Suns AFL club champion prize

Gold Coast forward Tom Lynch has won the Suns' club champion award after his impressive 2015 AFL campaign.

The key forward's consistency and leadership were one of the positives out of a troubled campaign for the expansion club.

Lynch played in 20 of the Suns' 22 games and kicked a club-best 43 goals.

You might also like

The 22-year-old's year also included a best-on-ground display to win the Marcus Ashcroft Medal in the round-19 win over Brisbane at the Gabba, where he kicked an equal career-best five goals.

Lynch polled 131 votes to win the award narrowly from second-year player Kade Kolodjashnij (129).

Key defender Steven May was some way behind in third place with a tally of 102 votes.

Lynch is just the third Suns' player after Gary Ablett and David Swallow to win the annual award.

A dominant seven-game spell from rounds 15 to 21 sealed Lynch's win, with 80 of his 131 votes coming during that period.

Kolodjashnij's tally reflected a strong second-year performance by the Tasmanian, who polled in 16 matches including nine of the first 11 games.

Lynch also picked up the Suns' players' player award to complete a double acknowledgement while Kolodjashnij was named the club's most-improved player.

Retired ex-Richmond and Brisbane player Andrew Raines was named the club's most-professional player.


* 1st - Tom Lynch (131 votes)

* 2nd - Kade Kolodjashnij (129)

* 3rd - Steven May (102)

* 4th - Touk Miller (77)

* 5th - Michael Rischitelli (64)

* 6th - Charlie Dixon (63)

* 7th - Aaron Hall (60)

* 8th - Adam Saad (48)

* 9th - Gary Ablett (46)

* 10th - Brandon Matera (41)

0 0
please wait...